Sorry. You need to upgrade your browser

You are using Internet Explorer 8

This is considered an out of date browser. This website has been developed with modern browsers in mind to allow it to display at its best in a wide variety of viewing situations - including mobile viewing. But we haven't supported older browsers like IE8. Please upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer - or try Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome. Both are excellent browsers.

Thank you.

24th Biennial Congress of the European Association for Cancer Research

Carcinogenesis Awards

Oxford University Press and the EACR are pleased to announce the winners of the 9th Biennial Carcinogenesis Awards, which are presented biennially at the EACR Congress. The awards will be presented at the EACR24 Congress, Manchester, UK, 09 - 12 July 2016.


Anthony Dipple Carcinogenesis Award

The winner of this senior award for major contributions to research in the field of carcinogenesis is Michael Karin (University of California, San Diego, USA).

Dr. Karin has spent his entire academic career investigating stress and inflammation signaling covering the entire gamut of research approaches from basic biochemistry through molecular cell biology to animal pathophysiology. After discovering how environmental stress caused by either infection, inflammation or exposure to toxic substances leads to activation of AP-1, NF-κB and other transcription factors, his lab began to examine the role of the key signaling pathways controlling these transcription factors in the pathogenesis of cancer, degenerative and metabolic diseases.

The Karin group has identified some of the fundamental mechanisms through which inflammation and obesity promote tumor development and progression and contribute to type II diabetes. They had established the mechanisms through which members of the IL-6 cytokine family contribute to the development of colorectal and liver cancer through activation of STAT3 and other transcription factors. They had also established the complex and cell type specific mechanisms through which NF-κB activation via IκB kinases (IKK) controls development and progression of colon, liver and prostate cancers. They were amongst the first to demonstrate that not only innate immune cells, such as macrophages, but also adaptive immune cells, including T regulatory cells and B lymphocytes, also contribute to tumorigenesis and its progression. Through this work, Dr. Karin has contributed to the founding of the Inflammation and Cancer field.

Dr. Karin will lecture on his work at EACR24 and be presented with this award and a prize of $2500.


Carcinogenesis Young Investigator Award

This award recognises a recent, significant contribution to carcinogenesis research by an investigator under the age of 40 on 1 July 2015. The winner is Dr. Ludmil Alexandrov (Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, USA).

Ludmil Alexandrov is an Oppenheimer Fellow in the Theoretical Biology and Biophysics Group and the Center for Nonlinear Studies at Los Alamos National Laboratory. He earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Science from Neumont University and received his Master’s of Philosophy in Computational Biology as well as his Ph.D. in Cancer Genetics from the University of Cambridge.

During his PhD training, Ludmil developed the first mathematical model describing signatures of mutational processes in human cancer as well as the first computational framework for extracting these signatures from next-generation sequencing data from cancer genomes. Ludmil subsequently used this framework to map the mutational signatures in 7,042 cancer genomes providing the first comprehensive map of the mutational signatures in human cancer. More recently, Ludmil mapped the signatures of clock-like mutational processes operative in normal somatic cells and demonstrated that mutational signatures can be used for targeted cancer therapy.

Dr. Alexandrov will present the award lecture at EACR24 and be presented with the award and a prize of $2500.


To read more about the awards and the sponsoring journal Carcinogenesis, click here: